Tech Facts

A Quick Guide CompTIA A+ Certification


If you aspire to secure a career in IT, CompTIA A+ is a gold standard certification. In the present digital world, CompTIA certification is the industry standard for a beginning career in IT. A not-for-profit trade body called the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) offers this certification. CompTIA offers trained certifications for those candidates who intend to begin their career in the IT industry. 

Such certifications are merchant neutral, which means that you are capable of learning about different other vendors such as Oracle, Microsoft, Cisco, ITIL, etc. CompTIA A+ skilled candidates are better equipped to troubleshoot and resolve a wider variety of problems, including operating systems and networking to mobile devices and security. 

About CompTIA

The Computing Technology Industry Association or CompTIA is the foremost provider of vendor-neutral IT certifications and security plus certification in the world. It accounts for over two million IT certifications issued globally. CompTIA is committed to helping IT professionals to pilot the charge in the digitally linked world.

For over 20 years, CompTIA has developed training and certification examinations for computing support, open-source (Linux) development, networking, security, cloud, and mobility. They regularly review and keep candidates posted about exams to ensure that CompTIA certifications offer to address the requirements of present-day technological challenges.

What job profiles recruit CompTIA A+ trained individuals?

CompTIA training is for individuals who want to start a career in IT. The candidates should have nine months to a year’s hands-on experience in the lab or field or similar training. The training prepares you for these job roles:

  • Service desk analyst 
  • Technical support specialist
  • Help desk technician
  • Field service technician
  • End-user computing technician
  • Data support technician
  • Associate network engineer
  • System support specialist
  • Desktop support administrator

Types of CompTIA certifications

CompTIA courses cater to four different areas within IT. The CompTIA certification programs generally are:

  • Core certificate courses like the CompTIA A+
  • Cybersecurity certification – CompTIA Security+
  • Infrastructure certificate course – CYSA+ or CompTIA Network+
  • Supplementary professional certification

The CompTIA A+ certification belongs to the core certification type. The foremost objective of the program is to train entry-level computer service professionals, IT Administrators, IT helpdesk and offer knowledge about installing and operating personal computers (PCs). Further, candidates learn ways to maintain and customize their PC in this certification program.

To receive this certification, you need to pass both the exams – CompTIA A+ 220-1001 and 220-1002. By these exams, you will cover the maintenance of mobile phones, printers, PCs, and operating systems (OS).

About CompTIA A+ Exam

This performance-based certificate course supports the ability to connect clients to the data they require to perform their tasks, regardless of the devices they use. You will find successful students to be carrying out the following tasks:

  • Configure, set up, and upgrade OS, which includes Windows, Linux, Apple OS X, Android, iOS, and Windows Mobile
  • Install and troubleshoot tangential devices
  • Set up and image virtual devices
  • Assemble and disband computer hardware
  • Install and support essential home and small office networks
  • Troubleshoot and sustain end-user access to data and applications 
  • Put into operation suitable cybersecurity controls for helpdesk and technical support jobs

The exam for CompTIA A+ includes the following domains and topics:

  • Portable Devices: Installation and configuration of laptops and other mobile devices
  • Hardware: Identification, usage, and connecting hardware apparatus and devices
  • Networking: Explanation of types of networks and connections. It includes transmission control protocol/internet protocol (TCP/IP), Wi-Fi, and small office/home office (SOHO)
  • Hardware and Network Troubleshooting: Troubleshoot device and network problems
  • Software Troubleshooting: Troubleshoot PC and issues related to mobile devices, which includes app security support
  • Security: Identification and shielding against security susceptibility for devices and their network connections
  • Windows Operating System (OS): Installation and support Windows OS, together with command line and client support
  • Other OS Technologies: Understanding of Mac OS, Linux, and mobile OS
  • Operational Measures: Following paramount practices for safety, ecological impacts and professionalism, and communication

CompTIA certification offers a range of all-inclusive learning resources, including books, e-Learning, labs, and exam preparation software. These learning resources are generated in-house by CompTIA based on feedback from learners. 

Most Popular

To Top
India and Pakistan’s steroid-soaked rhetoric over Kashmir will come back to haunt them both clenbuterol australia bossier man pleads guilty for leadership role in anabolic steriod distribution conspiracy